Since 1973, the six New England states and the five Eastern Canadian provinces have worked cooperatively to address their shared interests across the border.  Through the annual conferences of governors and premiers and discussions of joint committees, the New England Governors and Eastern Canadian Premiers (NEG/ECP) encourages cooperation by:

  • developing networks and relationships,
  • taking collective action,
  • engaging in regional projects,
  • undertaking research, and
  • increasing public awareness of shared interests.

The 11 member jurisdictions of NEG/ECP are: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont, New Brunswick, Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Québec.

Current NEG/ECP joint committees include: the Committee on the Environment and its Climate Change Steering Committee, the Northeast International Committee on Energy, and the Transportation and Air Quality Committee.

Search this website Type then hit enter to search